Child Labor Work Permits
Any Student/Minor may go by any high school for the issuance of a work permit. One does not have to be student in St. Clair County School’s however; the individual must provide proof of birth…driver’s permit, driver’s license or birth certificate. If there is not an issuing officer at the facility or if you have questions please call Cathy Alverson at the St Clair Board of Education, 205-594-7131.
Alabama issues work permits to minors 14 and older. Minors under age 14 cannot be issued permits, with the exception of 12 and 13 year-olds in newspaper delivery.
- Applicant completes “Applicant Information”.
- Employer completes Instructions for Employers” and ‘Employer’s / Contractor’s Statement.
- Parent or guardian completes “Parent/Legal Guardian Approval”. (This section is not required for minors 16 or older)
- When school is in session, teacher completes “School Record” for 14 and 15 year-olds.
- After completing application, take this form with proof of age to a Child Labor Work Permit Issuing Officer. Issuing officers are located at county and city boards of education and at most high schools throughout Alabama.
Permitted Hours of Work for Minors Under 19
16, 17 or 18 year-olds who are enrolled in school may not work before 5a.m. or after 10p.m. on any night preceding a school day. EXCEPTION: Students who have been granted an exemption by the county or city superintendent (or headmaster).
For 14 and 15 Year Olds
During the months when public schools are in session:
- Not during school hours
- No more than 3 hours on a school day
- No more than 8 hours on a non-school day
- No more than 18 hours a week
- Not before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m. on any day of the week.
During the summer months when public schools are not in session:
- No more than 8 hours a day
- No more than 40 hours a week
- No more than 6 days a week
- Not before 7:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m. on any day of the week.
No person under 21 may serve or dispense alcoholic beverages where they are sold for consumption on the premises. Minors 18 and older may wait tables, but may not serve alcoholic beverages. Minors 16 or older may be employed in such places as bus persons, dishwashers, janitors, cooks, seaters or hostesses. 14 and 15 year olds who are members of the immediate family of the owner or operator may be employed in such places provided they do not serve, sell or handle alcoholic beverages.
The Alabama child labor law and Federal child labor regulations may differ in some instances; in those instances, the employer is required to follow the more restrictive standard.
For additional information:
Concerning Alabama’s child labor law, Call (334) 242-3460.
Concerning federal child labor regulations, call the U. S. Department of Labor, Wage & Hour Division office listed in the blue pages of your telephone directory.